Home > Cricut Projects > More Winter Woodland Skater Cards

More Winter Woodland Skater Cards

Here are the pictures of what I have been working on tonight.  The bottom two cards I did a couple days ago.  All of the skater girls were colored with pastel pencils, and the accents were made with a black,  fine tip Micron pen, and red Stampin’ Up marker.  Bottom of skates were done with a silver Krylon leafing pen.

Skater Card 1

Keep in mind the blue checkerboard is my tablecloth, not a part of the card!  I didn’t realize when I took these photos, how much it looks a part of it.  On this first one, I used the “Winter Woodland” Cricut cartridge, to cut out the skater, snowflakes, word “Joy”, and the background layering piece.  I used a cuttlebug embossing folder, to emboss the silver cardstock in the background, and applied “Diamond Dust”, around the perimeter of the piece.  I used pop dots to apply the snowflakes, so they wouldn’t get in the way of the diamond dust, I already had this on there, and they would have been hard to glue down.  I used white stickles to adhere the blue pebbles in the center of the snowflakes.  I edged the front of the card with a Krylon silver leafing pen.  (I love those things, they are really wonderful, I have gold, silver and either bronze or copper too.)  The shadow for the word “Joy” is done in a dark green, for some reason it looks black on this screen.

Skater Card 2

The card above is certainly not my favorite one.  Sometimes my cards are a little “out there”, and this one is no exception.  I never know quite how they are going to turn out, and when it needs a little something, sometimes what I try doesn’t always work.  Sometimes it does, and I’m not so sure about this one.  I used the “Winter Woodland”, to cut out the skater, the cardinal, and the silver background.  I ran the background through a cuttlebug folder to emboss.  Went around the edges with a Versamark pen, to apply embossing powder called, “Cow of many Colors”.  It’s a white pearlescent powder, and got it’s name because the company that sells it is,  “Cowtown Stamps”.  They have been coming to our local convention ever since it started.  I used a red Stampin’ Up marker to make tiny stitch lines around the background, but I got too close to the edge, and the lines are too small, it’s hard to see.  I used clear Crystal Laquer to apply the blue pebbles at each corner.  I used a red, and a green Stampin Up’ marker to doodle around the outside of the card.  I applied green Stickles as dots, at random throughout the doodles.  I attached the cardinal with a small handmade spring, with half a Zot at each end.  Unfortunately, my spring does not work like a spring, like I thought it would.  I may take it out.

Skater Card 3

The card above is not my favorite, either.  Cut the skater and the background with “Winter Woodland” cartridge.  Embossed the background with a cuttlebug folder.  I don’t know if it was the paper, or my machine.  (I don’t have a Cuttlebug, I use a “Wizard”, die cut and embossing machine.  I just love it, you can use your brass stencils just like embossing folders!)  Was having trouble with my cardstock, it kept cracking with this particular embossing folder.  The cardstock is DCWV metallic textured, and did not like this folder, for some reason.  So I found a spray bottle with water in it, I had been using for plants.  I sprayed the back of the cardstock before running it through, and spread the water around with my finger, until it got soft and started to curl.  Ran through the embossing, and worked like a charm!  Of course it curled, as it dried, but I was going to glue flat to my card, as a background anyway, so it did not matter.

Tied some ribbon around the edge, and glued to the back so it would not move around.  I used Diamond Dust to frame the skater, and it did not turn out as well as I thought it would.  Not going to do that again!  It’s hard to see on the metallic cardstock, but I used a classic brown SU ink pad to distress the edges a bit.  Used a couple of corner punches, and punched out a scrap of silver, to put in the center.  I used the same scrapbook paper as I did for her dress, to line the inside of the card, white side out.

Skater Card 4

Skater, snowflakes, “Joy”, and background piece were all cut using “Winter Woodland”.  Cuttlebug embossing folder for the silver background piece.  Used Stickles to adhere the blue pebbles, on the snowflakes.  Gold edging was done with Krylon gold leafing pen.

Skater Card 5

Above card is a duplicate of instructions for last card, except the colors are a bit different, and I used silver leafing pen, instead of gold.

Stamped skater cards

The last two cards pictured above, backgrounds were stamped with a blue Brilliance ink pad.  Don’t remember the name of this gorgeous set, but it’s no longer available.  It’s one of my favorite SU Christmas sets, and was surprised and sad to see it go.  I think it’s a beautiful set.  I just stamped the image three times, for the deer scene, overlapping a bit.  Stamped the snowman and deer side by side for the other card background.  The saying is in the same set.  The little pinecone border at the top was a small, probably about 1″ diameter stamp.  I just stamped it over and over to get the border at the top.  Used the classic brown SU inkpad, to stamp the saying, and distress the card edges.  Did I mention how much I LOVE the classic brown pad!  I kept borrowing it from my friend, and finally realized how versatile it was, and how much I actually used it, and had to have one of my own.  Since I do, I use it all the time, it’s wonderful for distressing the edges of your cards, or images.  (One of my favorite techniques.)

Categories: Cricut Projects
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

