Home > Cricut Projects > Project #2, Cricut bag

Project #2, Cricut bag

I love this bag.  I’ve seen it used many times now, so I had to try it.

Cricut bag

Cricut bag

Here’s what I did.  This bag is in the “Plantin Schoolbook” cartridge.  You choose the bag that looks square.  But choosing the “Tall Ball” option makes it round.  How cool is that!  Love the Cricut.  Anyway, I put in a 12″x12″ very heavy cardstock sheet to cut.  Then I used my papertrimmer to score the bottom of bag fold lines, with a bone folder.  I made sure everything was folded, and ready to glue.  It cuts out little tabs to fold and glue, to the sides.  This is similar to “darts”, in sewing.  I used Tombow mono adhesive to glue.  (I did have trouble using a slick gel glue, but it’s the only liquid glue I could find.)  But here’s the trick I discovered, the sides  kept sliding on me, and so I took a paper towel, and wiped off most of the glue, so I could then use a roller tape.  But I found out that when you wipe most of the glue away, it makes a tacky surface,  just perfect to hold together.  So if you use the same glue, just wipe most of it off, after touching the sides together.

side of bag

side of bag

Ok, now the bag is ready for embellishment. ( This is the fun part, I love to embellish!)  I used some silk flowers I got in a flower remnant bag, in the craft section at Wal-Mart.  I just clipped the plastic center out, and got out the Crop-a-dile Big Bite.  I put an off white grommet in the center, and found it is easier to place the grommet on the front, then flip the flower with the grommet held together, and place on the machine.

pushing down hard

pushing down hard

If you push down really hard on the machine, (but not hard enough to break anything), the gromlet will go through all the many layers of the flower.  How amazing is that!  I love the Crop-a-dile, too!  Ok, now I do the pink flower for the other side of the bag, in the same way.  I used a 3-D Zot, to attach one flower to each side of the bag.  For the finishing touch, I used the non-smearing chalks to distress the edges a bit. 

grommlet is now set

grommlet is now set

You can see the prongs went through ok

You can see the prongs went through ok

placing the grommlet

placing the grommlet
Now you have a very pretty little bag, compliments of the Cricut.
Other side

Other side

Ok, it’s hard to see in the pics here, but there is a hole in the dead center of the flowers, where the plastic once held the layers together.  I was going to finish this with a clear crystal, like the one shown in photo below, but I searched everywhere, and cannot find them.  I bought different sizes when my friend and I went shopping together, and thought I KNEW where they were at, but I’m stumped.  (Ever happen to you, ladies?)  Anyway, I guess I’ll just have to buy some more, because it would just give this the finishing touch, and hide the flower hole.

Crystal like the one needed for this bag

Crystal like the one needed for this bag

Categories: Cricut Projects
  1. anita b
    June 1, 2009 at 7:32 am

    I love this purse! So cheery! (and did you find the crystal you were looking for?)

    • craftygale
      June 3, 2009 at 10:07 am

      Yes, thank you, I did finally get to “Micheal’s”, and bought a sheet of them. It was a little small, but still worked. I will probably find the others, now that I’ve bought some. 😉 I should update new pics.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

